Midnight Cafe Chapter One

The Midnight Cafe. Interesting name for a cafe that opens well before midnight. A small little get away with ambient lighting and tile tables in patterns of blue and green. The walls are a muted tone of both blue and green: The ceiling, red, orange and yellow, is painted in such a way that it looked like it’s a burst of flames. I really love working here.

The bell on the door alerts me that someone just walked in. I see that he had seated himself in my section. I walk over to him. He is paler that most of my customers, indicating he is most likely a vampire which doesn’t bother me: Vampire rights have been in place six years now.

“Good evening Sir. Welcome to the Midnight Cafe.  I am Willow and I will be your server tonight. What may I get you tonight.” I smile at him and can’t help but see that he is handsome. His long black hair is straight and rests just past his ears. His eyes are the most tantalizing gray.

“Good evening Miss, I would like a Royalty Blended type A+ if you have any?”

I think for a minute before writing it down on my pad and nodding. “One A+ Royalty Blended coming up.” He smiles at me and I go back behind the counter and pull out one of the bottles of blood we have. I heat it up and shake it before bringing it out to him, only to see that he isn’t alone anymore: There is a blond young woman sitting across from him.

“Here you go Sir,“ I say as I turn toward the newcomer and smile. “Welcome to the Midnight  Cafe. I’m Willow.  May I get you something to drink to start with?”

The lady smiles and nods, “Yes, a diet Pepsi and no need to wait, I know what I want to eat.”  I smile at her, pen at the ready, waiting for her continue. “I would love a salad with grilled chicken, ranch dressing on the side.”

I smile and jot it down. “ Anything else ma’am?” She shakes her head and I go to the kitchen to place her order.

When the bell rings again I nearly swear under my breath. Of course the night both Candy and Amber decide to take off, the shop is busy. I go back to the front and smile tightly when I see that Mr. Archer and his friends are back. Oh great!  Just what I need. It’s well known that Archer and his gang hate vampires. I just so happen to have a few vampires here tonight.

“Good evening.  Welcome to the Midnight Cafe, this way please,” I say as I head towards an empty table.

Archer, a chubby man with mud brown eyes and blond hair, waved me off.  “Nonsense dear. We can seat ourselves. I’m sure you’re busy tonight. We heard about Candy and Amber: I’m surprised you’re fang…errrrr…your boss isn’t here to help you out.”  I can feel my smile fall. I so didn’t need this.

“Mr. Obryan is an extremely busy man, he has several other businesses to see to. It’s not too busy for me to handle.” With that, they took the booth in the back corner.

“Can I get you anything to drink?” I wait for them to give the same drink orders they always do.

“Well doll face, we’ll have a couple of beers each, and the usual food order,” he says as he gives me the same once over he does every time I wait for him and his friends.

I write down four burger baskets all well done and onion rings instead of fries. “Anything else gentlemen,” I ask, tight-lipped.

“Yes, what time do you get off tonight?’

I sigh. “ I am not on the menu, as I tell you every time.” I turn to walk away and Archer grabs my ass. I turn to smack his hand,  “Keep your hands to yourself, Archer!  Or do you want another harassment charge on your record?” He just laughs as I storm off to place his order.

“Everything okay Peaches? You look murderous.”

I smile at Roscoe, “Hmm nothing I can’t handle my dark knight, but I will I let you know if I need back up. Anyway here’s the order for the Archer boneheads at table five. Is my salad ready for table two? “

Roscoe smiles and nods. “Here you go Peaches. you keep your head up, ya hear?”

I nod and take the salad to the table: As I place it down I smile, “I’m sorry for the wait, would you like the an other Royalty and another Diet Pepsi Ma’am?” They nod so I go and dutifully refill their drinks. Once I hand them their drinks I go and grab some beers and put them on a tray and take them to the boneheads. As I  slide each bottle to its respective customer I tell them their order will be out soon.

At a quarter of three, the last customer has left and the kitchen is clean: Roscoe and Tony  are getting ready leave, “You need help cleaning up Peaches?”

I shake my head, “Nah, I’m good  Mario, you go and take Luigi there and go home.”

Roscoe shoots me a look of indignation, “I thought I was your dark knight? You wound me Peaches.”

I smile and give both of them a hug and a kiss on the cheek. “You are my dark knight Roscoe, now get going so I can close up.” They leave and I set to washing everything down and getting everything ready for tomorrow. Once I was satisfied that the job was done I packed everything up and slipped the bag of money into the office for the boss to deal with, locking the door behind me, and I head to the front of the shop to shut off the rest of the lights and signs.

“How did the night go? “ I nearly jumped out of my skin: Vampires seriously need to wear bells.

“It went smoothly, everything ran well, the customers were happy. Archer and his pals came in but nothing came of them. The report for the evening and money are in your office, Sir.”

He smiles and nods“Willow since it is just us you may call me Dustin. I find I like you a great deal. Tell me, how were Candy and Amber? Did they behave?”

Damn it!  He had to ask! “I don’t know since they never showed up. I figured they called out sick or something,” I shrug like I don’t really care, “But regardless, tonight was great.”

He smiles sadly, “I am going to hire new staff to help you serve the tables. The cafe may be expanding and I may need you to help manage things for me at times when I can not be here.”

I can tell my eyes were bug sized, “Manage?” I ask quietly, stunned. “Dustin, I know nothing about managing a Cafe. Waiting tables? Sure I[‘m a pro,  but to manage your affairs here. Are you sure?”

He smiles and nods again, “We have been working together for what?  Seven years now? You have known me to be a vampire since you started. You kept the secret until the reveal. I think I can trust you with my business. You are a model employee. I would only need you to help with schedules and placing orders for supplies.” I nod, too stunned for words still. “If you want to do those things?” I am speechless. Of course, I’m going to be doing it! It’s a great honor to be asked.

“I would be honored to help you with what you may need.”

He smiles, “I’m glad to hear it. Will you let me walk you out? It is close to dawn and you need to go home.” I smile and nod as we head to my car.

I’m immediately greeted by my loving cat, Loki, as soon as I open the apartment door. I had stumbled on him as a kitten one night on my way home. His jet black fur and the greenest eyes I had ever seen pulled the strings of my heart, I named him Loki.  I went the kitchen and added some food to his bowl before making some leftover chicken alfredo, my favorite dish, for supper. After eating my delicious meal I hit the showers.

5 thoughts on “Midnight Cafe Chapter One”

  1. Oh, yay! Was waiting for this one! 😀 Peaches and Dark Knight *giggles* Looking forward to seeing where you take this one!

    Like

Leave a comment